50 Laps

I’ve been swimming for as long as I can remember. Whether in pools, lakes, ponds, or puddles, I’ve always loved the water.  I feel like that has given me an excuse in the past to not work as hard at the swimming portion of triathlon.  Since I know I can swim, then I know I’ll at least get through it on race day.  And for my first couple of years it was my strongest area.  But last year cycling took over as my strongest leg.

1929938_556327368503_7132_n
“Swimming” at the lake

This year my focus is building speed and strength in all areas (I know, not a SMART goal, but I have those too).  I want to not only complete my races, but also beat myself.  I’m not going out there to win, but I am going out there to get better each time.

So with today’s swim I thought I’d challenge myself to go farther than I’ve gone in quite some time.  I completed 2500 meters/yards total (not sure if the pool I use is meters or yards). I start with a 100, then increased by 100 each time until 500.  Then I worked my way back down (100, 200, 300, 400, 500, 400, 300, 200, 100). I rested for 20 seconds to a minute between each set.

20160226_182110-1

I honestly can’t recall the last time I just swam, freestyle, for 50 laps in a pool.  I get bored easily which is ultimately why I switched from speed swimming to synchronized swimming in 7th grade.  Synchro was way more interesting.

It felt pretty fantastic to stick with it today and just swim for nearly an hour.  I’m especially proud of myself for doing so after work on a Friday.  The Hubster was nice enough to move date night to tomorrow so I could get my workout in too. ♥

Have a fantastic weekend, everybody!

 

 

 

One thought on “50 Laps

Leave a comment