Back to Blogging!

Well I’ve been getting back into a training routine the past few weeks (mostly), however not so much with the blogging (obviously).  But one step at a time I suppose.

It has been awesome exploring our new neighborhood through training.  I will say that The Hubster definitely should win an award for finding the best place to live up here.  We live about a quarter mile from a great park with 8+ miles of paved trails winding through woods, grassland, and around a small lake

We also live just a couple miles from a different lake with a beach/swimming area.  Perfect distance for a short warm-up ride before a swim.  I even met a couple of fellow triathletes there my first time out a couple weeks ago.

I have been trying to find a good spot to ride.  This city is incredibly bike friendly; however there are a lot of stop lights and intersections that like to slow down a ride. I feel like as soon as I get a good pace going I’m putting on the brakes.  Just means more exploring to be done.

Yesterday I got a great swim in at the beach. The weather has been unbelievable.  Perfect puffy white clouds.  Mid-seventies.  Calm breeze.  So amazing.  I have definitely missed Minnesota summers… We won’t discuss winters yet…

IMG_20160627_164409
The Lake.

Yesterday’s swim consisted of 12 laps.  I’m going to guess they were about 100 yard laps? Not positive of the distance.  But I split it up into two laps, four laps, three laps, two laps, and one lap.  On the last lap I swam out to the floating raft to get a quick dive in and swam back into shore.  The water is so clear that I can see the bottom even where it’s five feet deep. This also means that I can see all of the sunfish hanging out at the weed line. Too bad there’s no fishing allowed in the beach area…

 

I did go fishing on the other side of the lake a couple weeks ago, and I made the mistake of looking up what types of fish are in the lake today… I was thinking some sunnies and a few bass.  But did not expect to find that there are Northern pike and Muskies.  Makes swimming through the tall weeds a little less than ideal.  But I’ll try to choke down my fears next time I go.  I always have to whisper to myself that the fish are more scared of me than I am of them…

IMG_20160619_101143
Caught some whoppers!

Today, I went for a three mile run.  It was rough.  My right leg felt sluggish and a little tight, which made my left knee start to hurt afterwards (probably because I was partially favoring my right).  The run itself wasn’t very exciting.  Ran through the park with the pupper. Had to walk a couple of times but kept a decent pace.  It definitely did not feel as good as the 5-mile run I did last week though. Hoping for a better long run later in the week as long as my knee feels better.

IMG_20160620_192556
Post 5-mile run last week.

I’m going to call it a win after doing a seven mile hike with the Hubster this weekend during our camping trip for our anniversary. Talk about some good cross training!

On a side note, my summer vacation is getting cut a bit short because I got a job!  I found out a few weeks ago but don’t start until mid-July.  I’m pretty ecstatic about the timeline.  It’ll give me just enough time to feel like I got a summer break, get bored out of my mind, and then go back to work.  I haven’t had any teaching seminars to keep me busy this summer, so I’ve been feeling a little lost on what to do with my time.  You’d think that would have led to a lot of training, but really it just led to a lot of Netflix.

I’m hoping to get back into regular blogging now that we’re getting a little more settled and into a routine.  I finally picked two more races, too.  One in July, and one in September.  Feels good to get a couple more on the calendar.

2 thoughts on “Back to Blogging!

  1. Important Minnesota questions:
    Where are you swimming? I have yet to figure out a good lake for open water swimming (because I haven’t tried very hard)
    What races?

    Like

    1. I’ve been swimming at Bush Lake. Going for convenience more than anything. And really lucked out with the location.

      I signed up for the Heart of the Lakes tri and the Hopkins Royal (I couldn’t pass that one up).

      Are you signed up for any yet?

      Like

Leave a comment